Foundations Summer School: Apply Now!

Just a short note to let you know that the application form for the Perimeter Institute Quantum Foundations Summer School is now available online from here. The application deadline is 20th May.

Update: I should have mentioned that for successful applicants who are grad students all expenses will be paid by Perimeter. That should make it easier to persuade your advisor to let you go. You don’t have to be an expert on foundations and we are hoping that students studying a wide variety of areas of Physics will attend.

Update 2: Whether non-students, e.g. postdocs, will be allowed to attend is still an open question. I’m waiting to hear more about this from the organizers. Clearly, the priority for a summer school has to be grad students, so I would speculate that it will depend on the number and quality of applications that we get. I’m just guessing at the moment though and I’ll post another update once I hear the official word.

Update 3: I have just heard that there will be up to 10 places will be made available at the summer school for postdocs and junior faculty.

Explore posts in the same categories: Meetings, Quantum

6 Comments on “Foundations Summer School: Apply Now!”

  1. Dan Browne Says:

    Matt, you should make it clearer that this is a “grad student” only party.

    Your previous post implied that post docs too would be allowed along. Never mind. :-(


  2. Apologies. I’m not that directly involved in organizing the meeting, so I neglected to mention that. Let me check a few facts with Lucien and get back to you.

  3. Ian Durham Says:

    Matt, is there any provision for accepting exceptional undergraduates?


  4. Ian, I’d advise submitting an application with a letter of explanation from yourself. If there is enough space and the student is good enough then there would be a chance.

  5. Dan Browne Says:

    Thanks for the updates Matt!

  6. Ian Durham Says:

    Thanks Matt. I’ll talk to my student about it (classes start that week but I think it would be good for him to go).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

